Teaching

For the past several years, i have done a lot of leading worship through music. I really enjoy doing it. I love to see the body of Christ come together and seek God in worship through music. It breaks my heart that some people’s (even mine at times)worship is limited to a certain day… but that is another post. All this time that i have been leading worship there is something within me that longs and desires to teach. I won’t lie, this scares me a little because teachers are judged more harshly than others and i do my fair share of sinning, but i am no longer a sinner. It is no longer who I am but something I do. My heart yearns to be rid of it!

So having these desires within me to teach have waged war in me because i long to be a good teacher and i have no idea what it takes to be a good teacher. I don’t mean a good speaker who doesn’t use too many fillers. I mean a dynamic communicator who has the ability to proclaim the Gospel in a way that people can understand. I know ultimately it is the Holy Spirit that speaks so i can say things that are barely English and the Holy Spirit can make them clear.

What I have come to realize is this.. the development of gifts, like salvation, is a process that gets better the more i do it. I am being transformed from one degree of glory to another. I am a work in progress of becoming more like Jesus.

So i doubt i have faithful readers of this blog… that is not the reason i began writing this blog. I just need to know for anyone who comes across this post… what does it take to be a good teacher/communicator? What is it that set Jesus apart in his teaching. Okay maybe Jesus is a pretty hard teacher to follow. But what about guys like Matt Chandler, Mark Driscoll, Francis Chan, Louie Giglio, or John Piper? What is it that makes these guys good teachers/communicators?

2 thoughts on “Teaching

  1. redfro says:

    I don’t really have any great insight into this subject as I am asking the same questions and evaluating my own teaching ministry. One thing I think though is that when Jesus taught in the Gospels you always see he taught with authority, or that people were amazed at the authority with which he was teaching. He had that authority because of who he is, the Word of God in the flesh. The Word still has great and powerful authority today. God reveals Himself through His word. Chandler, Driscoll and Piper are great to me and I listen to them because their preaching is from the authority to the Word. They submit to that authority and their teaching reflects that. So for my own teaching ministry I ask myself first am I submitted to the word? It is not my words or my authority that these kids should listen to me but the authority of the Scriptures that should compel them. Just a few thoughts.

  2. Caty says:

    I think that a reason why Jesus was so dynamic in his teaching is that He loved the people he was speaking to so much that His words truly resonated. He spoke in a way that people could relate and understand, i.e. the parables. The past few weeks of training at MHS have put several teachers in my path. All of them have the same degree, but there is a drastic difference in the quality and effectiveness of some of the teachers. I think it’s not enough to be passionate about the subject. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to sound heretical on my view of the word, but I know that if someone cares more about their view of theology than my understanding of it, it’s hard to absorb. I love love LOVE English, but if I want to talk about it more than I want my students to really engage and learn about it, I immediately lose them. So…in summation. Passion is contagious. When Chandler talks about Christ, you know that he is absolutely in love with Him and would give his life just so that someone could come to know Christ as well. I am praying that I will teach in that way.Good question, btw. Helped me process a lot of my thoughts from the past week as I typed that out, lol

Leave a Reply

