How? Why?

These are two questions that often come up in life. The circumstances that come about that lead to the asking of these two questions are endless, meaning it can be for good or for bad. The reason why these questions are so important for me to think about is it shows within myself a lack of understanding, a weakness. The fact is there are things that i cannot and will not ever understand. I don’t know why things happen the way they do.

The question is often asked, ‘If God is all-powerful and He is good, then why is there evil and suffering.” If my response towards this question were to be anything besides “I have no idea” then my speech is shallow and full of fluff. But what do you say when you are hurting and the one person you love more than anyone else in the world is hurting? How am I supposed to be there for her when I hold NO ANSWERS! Sure I could say, “God works all things for good for those who love him and are called according to his purpose.” I could also say, “Somehow this pain is bringing God glory.” Or I could say, “Because of our choice to sin it leads to death.” While these may be true, to the hearer it can be deeply hurtful… especially if they already know these truths.

All I can do is sit, hold her, and weep. There is no answer within me. I cannot fix this. The greatest thing i can do is be quick to listen and very slow to speak (assuming i speak at all).

From my perspective, the beauty in it all is I don’t have to know why or how. I don’t have to know God’s reasoning in order to know that He has a reason. I know this because I know HIM! “I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith.” Philippians 3:7-9

I don’t know How or Why things happen the way they do. But God knows… and I know Him. In this I have a living hope.

“Behold the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning nor crying nor pain anymore, the the former things have passed away. And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.”

One thought on “How? Why?

  1. Caty says:

    I am sure you are a great support to Em right now. Sometimes the best thing to do is just be a shoulder to cry on and with. I am praying for you guys!!

Leave a Reply

