Hands Lifted, Knees Strengthened

I know I haven’t posted anything in a long time and I hope to resume when I graduate in about a month. But let’s skip the pleasantries because this was encouraging to me and it was too long to tweet.

I am a poor, weak creature; unstable as water, I cannot excel. This corruption is too hard for me, and is at the very door of ruining my soul’ and what to do I know not. My soul is become as parched ground, and a habitation of dragons. I have made promises and broken them; vows and engagements have been as a thing of nought. Many persuasions have I had that I had got the victory and should be delivered; but I am deceived; so that I plainly see, that without some eminent succour and assistance, I am lost, and shall be prevailed on to an utter relinquishment of God. But yet, though this be my state and condition, let the hands that hang down be lifted up, and the feeble knees be strengthened. Behold the Lord Christ, who hath all fulness of grace in his heart, all fulness of power in his hand: he is able to slay all these his enemies. There is a sufficient provision in him for my relief and assistance: he can take my drooping, dying soul, and make me more than a conqueror.

John Owen, The Mortification of Sin, (Ross-shire, Scotland: Christian Heritage, 2003), 163.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

